Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Best Option to Extend to Multiple Rooms Options · View
ahsllc
Posted: Friday, July 10, 2009 7:44:27 AM
Groups: Member

Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (29)
Hi,

I am fairly new to MyMovies and am needing some advise.
I have been running MyMovies on my VMC system for about 4 months with no problems at all. But I would like to now extend the VMC w/MyMovies to multiple rooms in the home. What is the best method of doing this? XBox? Linksys? or build a barebones HTPC and run VMC with MYMovies client on it?
Also if I go with multiple HTPC units how hard is it to make the multiple rooms link up with my Main VMC(already in place) to access all of the movies stored on the Main unit.

Thanks for the help!
mrg
Posted: Friday, July 10, 2009 7:10:20 PM

Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2500)
Since were are both driving down the same road and your a few miles behind me, here are the bumps on the road I have come across. I have the linksys 2100 extender. Lots of issues using the WIFI, far less issues using the Netgear Powerline XAVB101 but almoest flawless hard wired to a gigabyte switch. The Linksys 2100 is discontinued as most extenders are but hopes are high that with the release of Windows 7, manufacturers will release some new extenders. As for the xbox, the peeps here say the new ones are quiet and work well but old ones are too noisy As for HTPC, I reseacrhed a lot of these and you can build or buy a base model for about $250 but these can go clear up to $1000 depending on features like built in LCD touch screens. My Vista machine accesses my Windows Home server far faster than my linksys. I will probably end up building three HTPC's but will wait till Windows 7 comes out to see if there are any hardware isues. Just my thoughts - Max
mattardo
Posted: Friday, July 10, 2009 11:33:45 PM