Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Reinstall WHS2011 or move to other platforms for MM server? Options · View
drbo
Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2019 2:39:45 AM
Groups: Member

Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2611)
Dear Brian,

I need some advice Cool

I have been using MM since 2007, and I still keep 2 Win7 machines as HTPCs - for streaming and movies.

My movie collection is stored on a WHS2011 server. But although MM still is working, I need to upgrade the server for varius reasons.

So my question is. Should I reinstall WHS2011 - with all its limitations (it is mainly used for MM and file storage), or should I move on to Windows 10 or Windows Server ... (I have access to 2016 or 2019 Essential and Standard)

What would you recommend? What are the Pros and Cons? What would be best for continuous use of MM ... and the future mitigation from DVD directories and BD.isos to a different container ...

Thanks for a great software! Laughing
bhiga
Posted: Friday, January 03, 2020 7:34:30 PM

Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2536)
I'm running Server 2012 R2 Essentials. I was considering upgrading to Server 2016 Essentials, but as I understand it the licensing model has changed starting with Server 2016, and it's purely based on cores rather than physical CPU packages like it was in Server 2012 and prior (where standard and essential server versions supported up to 2 CPU packages, regardless of cores in each CPU package).

Also, newer Windows Server versions are 64-bit only, and anything running Win8.1 core or newer requires CMPXCHG16b (aka Compare Exchange 128 bit) in case you're running older/niche hardware. The CMPXCHG16b thing prevented me from upgrading my older HTPC client to Windows 8.1

Whatever your other reasons to upgrade OS version probably player larger roles in the decision.
drbo
Posted: Saturday, January 04, 2020 1:22:44 AM