Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Fresh Installation Issues Options · View
khenzel
Posted: Thursday, August 4, 2022 4:18:10 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
First off, i'm an old user of this product, used it for many years. Setting it up fresh on my new pc and i'm hitting the following issues.


I just installed both the 5.4 stable and pre-release 4 installers, both are giving me the same issue. The installation finishes without error, but I am seeing two issues:

1. When i navigate the collection manager, i get the script error that pops up after every navigation click.
2. When in Media Center and attempting to open My Movies on the menu strip, i get the following error: "Invalid Application - Unable to launch my movies start menu strip 1"

I have tried full uninstall-reinstallations with a db drop each time. I have tried rebooting, and even tried restoring my database from my stable secondary PC to this one to see if the error would go away. It still persists.

Attached is the image of the script error and my logs.

Please let me know how i can resolve this. Again, its a brand new pc with a fresh installation. I have no issue using Media Center outside of this application, this is the only application that is broken on my menu strip.

I added a full current log after hitting the issues several times as i did attempt to clear the log and reproduce the invalid application issue - but nothing in the logs demonstrated the issue i had. I figure it's best to include a full log in the event something else is happening outside of the error event trigger.

1. What version of My Movies are you running? Support is only provided for the latest version of MM.
- latest verion 5.4 and pre release 4 both tried - same results
2. What operating system are you running (VISTA, VISTA SP1, MCE 2004, MCE 2005 or something else)?
- Windows 11 - I am using the WMC-V8.8.5.zip build from the green button successfully (my second pc is also a windows 11 build and is running Media center + MyMovies client just fine)
3. Are you on a X86 or X64 version of Windows, or is this a extender (if so which one)?
- x64
4. What versions of .NET Framework do you have installed (Just because you have 2.0 does not mean you do not need 1.1, they run side/by/side)?
- fresh install - i don't have .net framework listed in my appwiz.cpl, so nothing at the moment
5. What security software suite do you have installed (Zone Alarm, McAfee, Symantec, One Care, etc.)?
- nothing, just basic windows defender
6. Is your machine fully up-to date with all Microsoft provided patches, specifically Media Center related ones?
- yes
7. What part of My Movies are you having problems with, Collection Manager or My Movies?
- both as stated above
8. What are the EXACT steps you followed to re-produce the problem? For example did you start Media Center from the Start Menu or from within Media Center, and once in Media Center what EXACTLY did you select step by step and what did you see.
- detail outlined above.

File Attachment(s):
log.txt (1,625kb) downloaded 3 time(s).
20220803_192033.jpg (3,318kb) downloaded 6 time(s).

khenzel attached the following image(s):
script error.png

khenzel
Posted: Saturday, August 6, 2022 7:46:23 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
hoping somebody can please assist me with this. Been a couple days now... I really need to get this rig set up. Thanks much!
khenzel
Posted: Wednesday, August 10, 2022 10:48:30 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
khenzel wrote:
hoping somebody can please assist me with this. Been a couple days now... I really need to get this rig set up. Thanks much!



Hi,

Still in need of assistance. Is there any Mod or Admin that can offer aid here?
binnerup
Posted: Thursday, August 11, 2022 5:37:56 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
egedling
Posted: Friday, August 12, 2022 2:02:05 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/22/2011
Posts: 4

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2528)
I am having the exact same issue - I even resorted to removing nearly 2000 titles - now I have a database with nothing in it
I tried adding around 50 titles - it started to add them but after accepting just one title it just crashed with the same script error - uninstalled (using the mymovies clean tool (that didn't seem to remove much), reinstalled mymovies etc

I dont want to waste more time adding more titles until this issue has been resolved

two images - 1st showing the attempt to add and the 2nd same script just opening Mymovies

File Attachment(s):
Screenshot 2022-08-12 121408.png (458kb) downloaded 10 time(s).
Screenshot 2022-08-12 130410.png (581kb) downloaded 9 time(s).


binnerup
Posted: Friday, August 12, 2022 6:03:25 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
egedling
Posted: Friday, August 12, 2022 6:29:17 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/22/2011
Posts: 4

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2528)
I did need a couple of updates - that weren't available before - I have since updated, restarted and its just the same?
binnerup
Posted: Monday, August 15, 2022 12:24:17 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
Ok - I need to look into this.

The web browser running this is hosted inside .NET and there is a change to hav it rendering using a specific version - it appears your device is having a different renderer version, perhaps due to deprecation of the Internet Explorer browser.

Problem is that while Edge can be embedded the implementation is not working well.

Which OS is this on please?

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
egedling
Posted: Monday, August 15, 2022 4:28:44 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/22/2011
Posts: 4

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2528)
I am using Windows 11 Pro 21H2 22000.856
khenzel
Posted: Friday, August 19, 2022 4:57:57 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
Sorry, been some days and forgot to check back. Here is the info you asked for:

I am also running Windows 11 Pro, Version 21H2 OS build 22000.856 - I am running all the latest updates, and the issue is still happening.

If there is any more info you need from me, let me know and i'll grab it for you. I've pulled all details i can from the stickies in the forum. Hopefully this is sufficient to determine the issue.

I miss My Movies greatly and really want it back! :)

I want to clarify one thing, the script error is bad as it prevents me from maintaining and adding to my collection, but my biggest issue i want addressed is the menu strip error - i can't use My Movies at all to access my collection while this is going on.

Appreciate the help!
ledhead
Posted: Saturday, August 20, 2022 1:01:41 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/2/2008
Posts: 1

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (1254)
Having same issue but it showed up this week after a prompted upgrade of "My Movies". Running Windows 7. Nothing shows on Media Center anymore. "invalid application. Unable to launch my movies start menu strip 1"
khenzel
Posted: Monday, August 22, 2022 6:12:10 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
ledhead wrote:
Having same issue but it showed up this week after a prompted upgrade of "My Movies". Running Windows 7. Nothing shows on Media Center anymore. "invalid application. Unable to launch my movies start menu strip 1"


Hi,


Checking back in on this. Sad my My Movies app is still out of whack. I really enjoy this software as the others on this thread do, and am really hoping to get the menu strip/ script error issues resolved!

Thanks again!
binnerup
Posted: Wednesday, August 24, 2022 9:28:04 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
ledhead wrote:
Having same issue but it showed up this week after a prompted upgrade of "My Movies". Running Windows 7. Nothing shows on Media Center anymore. "invalid application. Unable to launch my movies start menu strip 1"


Two different issues, please keep them in separate threads.

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
binnerup
Posted: Wednesday, August 24, 2022 9:29:06 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
khenzel wrote:

Checking back in on this. Sad my My Movies app is still out of whack. I really enjoy this software as the others on this thread do, and am really hoping to get the menu strip/ script error issues resolved!


I suspect that it could have to do with end of support on Internet Explorer, but I have not yet gotten to investigate it.

Notice that your can change to the edit move, and not use the display mode.

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
khenzel
Posted: Thursday, August 25, 2022 12:59:24 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
binnerup wrote:
ledhead wrote:
Having same issue but it showed up this week after a prompted upgrade of "My Movies". Running Windows 7. Nothing shows on Media Center anymore. "invalid application. Unable to launch my movies start menu strip 1"


Two different issues, please keep them in separate threads.


Actually the menu strip issue he is talking about is my primary reason for starting this thread. The script issue i mentioned on the side... but I would prefer this thread really focuses on the menu strip issue as I can't even open my movies in media center with this issue.

I would really like that to be resolved. Several of us in the thread above had mentioned this issue happening, and is a total blocker for using the product on our machines.

I only mentioned the script error wondering if it was tied to the issue i'm experiencing with the menu strip error. It became a focus as other members did a +1 post for that issue... but again, i really want to focus on the menu strip issue on this thread if we are pushing restrictions on subject content :)

I (or somebody else) can open another thread on the script error issue in collection manager later once my primary issue has been addressed.

Thanks!
khenzel
Posted: Thursday, August 25, 2022 3:22:52 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
I'm a software developer and a power user, so if you have some technical instructions you would like me to try, please let me know.

I tried updating the system service to run off my service account user, but it made no difference, so i reverted it back to windows auth. Note that my collection manager does parse my movie collection, so that means that the service is properly linked up to the SQL DB, otherwise it would not be listing the movies there.

I peeked at the registry to see if something was mal-formed with the menu strip registry keys, but saw nothing standing out.

I really need this menu strip execute issue resolved though.

My registry path to My Movies Start Menu Strip 1 - Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Extensibility\Applications\{8984aed5-7c9d-42f0-b2ad-c39bbcf04a25}

Path association to the entry point also looks valid: Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Extensibility\Entry Points\{810d7b87-1300-4aed-a700-1c6179f8f14b}

I found the mymovies.xml that points to the entrypoint guid, and the app guid... both match up and exist in my registry, so on execute, the registry path should have a valid path to execute the application... so where is the break happening?

Your logging captures nothing here, so what could the issue be? I've not seen anything happening in event viewer as well.

As its been nearly a month since i started this thread, i'm doing what i can to figure out this issue on my own as i REALLY want this going....!

I've attached screenshots of mymovies.xml with the registry value, as well as MyMoviesStrip.xml with the corresponding menu strip 1 registry values. They all match up though.

File Attachment(s):
Screenshot 2022-08-24 183109.png (365kb) downloaded 3 time(s).
Screenshot 2022-08-24 183510.png (453kb) downloaded 1 time(s).


binnerup
Posted: Friday, August 26, 2022 9:30:45 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
So, there is no point in going over these registry entries, as the installer registers them as they should.

I am considering here however if the issue is related to the Internet Explorer deprecation.

Typically, with this error, it have been enough for users to re-install the app.

But, this may mean the end of life of the Windows Media Center add-ins - I will need to check it on a virtual machine, but it will take some time before I get the time to do so.

Anyways - it will mainly just be a check if it still works or not - there won't be any changes.

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
pauven
Posted: Saturday, August 27, 2022 4:28:58 PM

Groups: Member

Joined: 5/13/2009
Posts: 294
Location: Georgia, USA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (3485)
For those looking for an alternative solution, instead of Windows Media Center you can try Chameleon MediaCenter (CMC). I wrote it starting 5 years ago, and it' looks near identical to the My Movies WMC plugin, and it integrates extremely well with My Movies.

I'm also releasing CMC v5.0 in a few days, and for the first time it will be completely free to use. You will still need 2500 My Movies Points from Binnerup to unlock the API (looks like you guys have plenty), but otherwise there will be no cost to use CMC.

If you want to go ahead and give CMC a try, you can download the current v4.2 from the link in my signature. It is trial-locked to 101 titles, which is enough for you to set it up and get it working, and see how you like it. When v5 comes out in a few days, the trial limit will disappear. Just ignore the old license purchase page on the website, that will be replaced by a donate page for those that wish to voluntarily contribute to CMC's ongoing development.

Unlike WMC which is dying a slow, painful death, CMC is still being actively developed and improved. Give it a solid try, you might be surprised.

-Paul

Chameleon MediaCenter (CMC) v5.0 - A FREE WMC replacement GUI for My Movies Collection Management on Win7/8.1/10/11, plus a Music Library and App Launcher!
khenzel
Posted: Tuesday, August 30, 2022 6:42:43 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/23/2008
Posts: 44

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2505)
binnerup wrote:
So, there is no point in going over these registry entries, as the installer registers them as they should.

I am considering here however if the issue is related to the Internet Explorer deprecation.

Typically, with this error, it have been enough for users to re-install the app.

But, this may mean the end of life of the Windows Media Center add-ins - I will need to check it on a virtual machine, but it will take some time before I get the time to do so.

Anyways - it will mainly just be a check if it still works or not - there won't be any changes.


What does the strip error have anything at all to do with internet explorer? I think perhaps you are not fully understanding the issue? Forget the script error inside collection manager. As I said before, I only provided that information in the event it had any tie to the issue i was experiencing. ALL i want solved here is resolution on the menu strip issue.

pretty hard to get a straight answer, that's why people like me resort to digging through the app code, registry entries, etc. to see what's wrong. We have to reverse engineer things to try to understand how the program works as the guys who know how it works lack the time to provide sufficient answers...

If you are so certain it is IE related, mind taking a few moments explaining how a eHome shell has any ties at all to the internet explorer browser to render a menu strip inside windows media center?

And how does my 2nd machine running windows 11 w/same versions work with My Movies? That alone should debunk that idea...


30 days in still looking for an answer.
binnerup
Posted: Wednesday, August 31, 2022 11:32:23 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,297
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (157620)
There is not directly a link between IE11 and the strip, but it is a historical thing - originally all add-ins were HTML based, and there is a great risk that the launcher still uses the browser part as an in-between thing with the launcher.

The point here is - when things have not been touched for more than five years, and, there suddenly is something not working, then look for outside changes - the outside changes here can be either a Windows update, or a thing such as the IE change.

Sure, you can start looking at registry entries, but they are not incorrect, because they are the same they have been for many, many years - potentially there can be a change in there that was applied but something from outside, but the installer would then correct it on a re-install.

I am sorry, but I cannot help you here.

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
Users browsing this topic
guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Powered by Yet Another Forum.net version 1.9.0 (NET v4.0) - 10/10/2006
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.