Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Cover Art Submission Standards- read if you are uploading cover art Options · View
iansilv
Posted: Thursday, May 24, 2007 7:44:44 PM

Groups: Moderator

Joined: 1/16/2006
Posts: 1,146
Location: San Clemente, CA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2640)
If you are submitting new cover art for disks you own, only submit it with the following specs:

1. Scan the actual boxes with the bar code on the back, not outside slip covers for individual titles

Example- Lion King, Alice in Wonderland and other Disney movies often have a slip cover on the outside. Do not scan this, as it is often optional and later copies of the release do not have it on the disk cover when you buy it in the store.

2. Scan it to a .tiff file. This file format does not compress the image at all, so when you upload, you will have the highest possible source image for the web service conversion.

3. Scan it at 600dpi with a bit depth of 24 for color. DO NOT use the interpolated settings- you must use a scanner that has an optical resolution of at least 600dpi. Nearly all scanners have this. And scan at the full 24 bit color setting on your scanner.

4. Scan at a resolution of 2995 x 4312 pixels. This size file is quite large, but the quality is worth it. IF you need to adjust the image in photoshop, that is fine. If you need to trim off a very slight amount of edge to make for a cleaner cover art, that is fine as well. Because this is a large image, when it is uploaded and made in to a jpg, the highest possible quality will still come through.

Very soon covers will be locked down to a specific barcode, so these high quality imgges will never be lost by someone else's bad submission. Many thanks to Auckland for these scanning specs that he mentioned in another post.

Any questions abotu this process please post here in this thread.

Thank you

Basic rules: Don't be annoying, don't be obnoxious, and don't post crap, and we will all get along fine. :)
raist101
Posted: Friday, June 08, 2007 3:12:47 PM

Groups: Member

Joined: 4/12/2007
Posts: 412
Location: Lafayette, LA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (9132)
Is there any way to get a list of titles from the webservice whose covers were submitted by me? I only had 300dpi capibility on my scanner until recently. I would like to rescan and resubmit any covers that I have submitted and have not already been overwritten by someone else.

Since the cover guidlines request that covers be saved as tiff before submission I recommend that TIF files be added to the "Files of type" drop down in CM's "Import Full Cover Scan", "Select Front Cover", and "Select Back Cover" file open dialogs. Right now they only have JPEG and GIF. I guess I should put this in a feature request.

FAQs:
- Attaching Log File To Forum Post
- Changing Multiple Disc Locations
binnerup
Posted: Friday, June 08, 2007 6:20:14 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 46,746
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (131626)
raist101
Posted: Friday, June 08, 2007 6:49:30 PM

Groups: Member

Joined: 4/12/2007
Posts: 412
Location: Lafayette, LA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (9132)
Actually some of them are _REALLY BAD_ - Ferris Bueller's Day Off (barcode: 097360189049) is a perfect example of how bad some of them came out (scanned at 300dpi with a bad Moire pattern that got worse when the scan was downscaled to 150dpi). I didn't notice it until I was skimming through the collection in MC on my widescreen and that one stuck out so I went and investigated all of my titles - they all have this to some degree.

Since I made the mess, I'd really like to clean it up if possible.


FAQs:
- Attaching Log File To Forum Post
- Changing Multiple Disc Locations
iansilv
Posted: Wednesday, June 13, 2007 7:14:58 AM

Groups: Moderator

Joined: 1/16/2006
Posts: 1,146
Location: San Clemente, CA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2640)
you could just choose to update all your data from the webservice, check the titles, and see which ones need to be fixed after that

Basic rules: Don't be annoying, don't be obnoxious, and don't post crap, and we will all get along fine. :)
hersee
Posted: Saturday, June 30, 2007 7:18:23 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/30/2007
Posts: 56

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (16524)
Any chance of adding a TWAIN or WIA scan feature in My Movies Collection Management to grab these scans at the required resolution.

Alternatively I suggest detailing the resolution next to the Select Front Cover button or in the title of the load window that pops up.

Or how about rating the scan based on the resolution, if it's a higher resolution than required scale before sending to the server.

Just thoughts ;-)
iansilv
Posted: Monday, July 09, 2007 7:25:53 PM

Groups: Moderator

Joined: 1/16/2006
Posts: 1,146
Location: San Clemente, CA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (2640)
Twin import has been a request feature in the requested features list. IT does automatically scale the images to the appropriate size. That is why it is important to submit the highest quality art possible. You don't need to worry about giving it the correct resolution- the system will automatically downscale.

Basic rules: Don't be annoying, don't be obnoxious, and don't post crap, and we will all get along fine. :)
hersee
Posted: Sunday, July 15, 2007 8:47:46 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/30/2007
Posts: 56

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (16524)
I've just followed these steps scanning at 300dpi saving as a TIFF etc. But when My Moives scales the image the result is a horrible moire pattern. I found that if I reduced the image to 150dpi in photoshop and then imported that the result was much better.

Perhaps the scaling code needs to use a bilinear or similar algorithm as opposed to, and I'm guessing, a nearest pixel approach?
binnerup
Posted: Sunday, July 15, 2007 8:51:26 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 46,746
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (131626)
lostinva
Posted: Sunday, July 22, 2007 9:54:35 PM

Groups: Administration , Member, Moderator

Joined: 7/18/2007
Posts: 3,930
Location: Virginia

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (431938)
I have a HP PSC 1315v, and scan at 150dpi and use the "descreen" option to reduce patterns/moire, and the resulting images look considerably better than when I tried scanning at 300 or 600dpi. I'm glad to see I'm not the only one stuck in this situation.
binnerup
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2007 10:09:16 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 46,746
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (131626)
lostinva
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2007 11:46:00 AM

Groups: Administration , Member, Moderator

Joined: 7/18/2007
Posts: 3,930
Location: Virginia

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (431938)
That's not to say the problem isn't on my end. I have no option anywhere to check interpolation settings, so I suppose there's a possibility that that's the culprit in my scenario. Or my scanner just flat out sucks. I'll try my old Lexmark and my dad's HP and see what kind of results I get.
dbjorck
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2007 6:00:36 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/23/2006
Posts: 551
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (9231)
Hi!

I've also noticed that 300 DPI covers look worse than 150 DPI when it's scaled down. I have a brand new top of the line scanner so I'm certain it's not on my end. Not so much moire though as pixelated.

Brgds

Danny
binnerup
Posted: Monday, July 23, 2007 8:33:21 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 46,746
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (131626)
ancampos
Posted: Monday, July 30, 2007 5:46:45 AM

Groups: Member

Joined: 7/23/2007
Posts: 9
Location: Houston, Texas

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (1680)
I have noticed the pattern as well... however only when editing. For instance I scan it and if I am only uploading the back cover when doing the crop, the pattern is there however when viewing outside the editing application is fine.

When first loading it into the Collection editor the pattern is back.. after saving it went away.

After viewing it online, it looks fine.

One I just uploaded was the back cover for Summer of Sam.

My scanner is a Canon LiDE 600F. Scanned as Tiff @ 300 DPI



My Collection
My Collection - HD
mattardo
Posted: Monday, July 30, 2007 6:23:28 AM

Groups: Administration , Member, Moderator

Joined: 10/17/2006
Posts: 2,448
Location: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (94727)
I get the same result when looking at it my editing program, but it seems fine outside of it. I have no idea why.

New to My Movies and confused? Start HERE - CLICK ME!

"One inch of joy surmounts of grief a span;
Because to laugh is proper to the man."
Rabelais
dbjorck
Posted: Monday, July 30, 2007 8:55:12 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/23/2006
Posts: 551
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (9231)
H!

I have an HP PhotoSmart 3310 All-In-One.

Brgds

Danny
lostinva
Posted: Wednesday, August 15, 2007 9:10:36 AM

Groups: Administration , Member, Moderator

Joined: 7/18/2007
Posts: 3,930
Location: Virginia

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (431938)
It actually seems to be caused due to poor scaling on the client side. When you import a scan, it downscales the local copy to 250dpi and may look pretty bad. When it is submitted and processed online, it is scaled to 150dpi. If you delete the title, then re-add it, the downloaded covers (that you just submitted) look fine as they are being processed correctly by the webservice.

To to sum it up, we're being led to believe that our hi-res scans are bad, because the scaling performed on the local copy is not optimized well.

Might I suggest that after a cover scan is processed by the webservice, it be downloaded back to the client to sync the images? OR, configure the client to use same optimization as the webservice.
binnerup
Posted: Wednesday, August 15, 2007 11:03:42 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 46,746
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (131626)
Actually, the client does the scaling before sending to WS, to send smaller files.

Only difference is that client files (local) is saved as 250 dpi, 90% JPEG quality while sending to WS it's 150 dpi, 85% JPEG quality.

If you have moiré, scratches and similar it actually often becomes less visible when down scaling to a lower dpi, but it's not because the system does not save it in the right quality.

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
lostinva
Posted: Wednesday, August 15, 2007 5:15:29 PM

Groups: Administration , Member, Moderator

Joined: 7/18/2007
Posts: 3,930
Location: Virginia

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (431938)
Err... that makes sense, of course it wouldn't try to upload a 40MB scan Embarassed

Anyway, what's the reasoning behind keeping the local copy at 250, if they should look visually indistinguishable to the untrained eye ? I ordered a Canon 4400f scanner from Newegg and it should be delivered today so we'll see if that makes any difference.
Users browsing this topic
guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Powered by Yet Another Forum.net version 1.9.0 (NET v4.0) - 10/10/2006
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.