Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

MM 5.41 with WS2012R2E problems Options · View
erik_n
Posted: Friday, April 1, 2022 4:01:49 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
I have just updated my server with MM 5.41PR3. When I try to open the Dashboard the server gets stucked there.

I read in the change log that there is some changes to the SQL server. Do the server need work for a few hours with something before I open Dashboard? Or should I let it try to open Dashboard for a few hours? Or is it something wrong?

My server is running Windows Server 2012R2 Essentials. All updated and worked fine with 5.40. I made a backup of the database just before I installed 5.41.

My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Friday, April 1, 2022 4:24:58 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
Now I just recalled something from when I installed the different pre-releases of 5.31...

I think I had the same problem then if I didn't MM add-in before I installed a new version. Then the problem now is that as I can't open the Dashboard I can't remove the add-in, and now I don't remember how to come around this problem...

My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Friday, April 1, 2022 5:07:20 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
Now I have removed MM from Control Panel and then been running MM Clean Tool. When I try to install MM 5.41 now it still says that the add-in already is installed, on my server and clients. If I try to install 5.40 again it says a newer version is already installed.

Now I don't know what to do. This was not a good update!

My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Friday, April 1, 2022 6:41:48 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
Found that after removing MM from Control Panel I can open Dashboard. My Movies tab is not there, but under Applications it was still listed. Removed it from Dashboard and restarted.

Then I installed 5.41, but then it was not possible to open Dashboard again. Removed 5.41 and installed 5.40. Tried to recover from backup, but I got an error.

Restarted sevrer and then updates were installed, I assume it was for SQL server. When I tried to open MM tab in Dashboard it said that a recovery was going on and that I should wait 15 min, restart server and try again. Waiting for this now...

My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Friday, April 1, 2022 10:59:16 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
What's wrong with the online service? It has been like this since I made the backup today.

File Attachment(s):
Skärmavbild 2022-04-01 kl. 22.58.01.png (328kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

erik_n attached the following image(s):
Skärmavbild 2022-04-01 kl. 23.00.28.png



My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Friday, April 1, 2022 11:01:33 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
Why don't I ever learn to not do updates of My Movies?

My home theather
My movies
binnerup
Posted: Saturday, April 2, 2022 11:06:40 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,069
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (156987)
erik_n
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 8:43:16 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
On my Ipad I can open the app (MM4), but if I press synchronize it says something like "Error when handling commando" (translated from Swedish).

Not possible to sync from server today also, so not possible to start MM on server at all. 5.40 installed now.

My home theather
My movies
binnerup
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 9:14:39 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,069
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (156987)
erik_n
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 9:27:46 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
Thanks, e-mail sent.

My home theather
My movies
binnerup
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 9:38:22 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,069
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (156987)
erik_n
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 12:44:34 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
When I wrote e-mail was sent it wasn't! When I clicked the link above Mail try to send from an account that not is active, but now it's sent.

Seems like you already solved the problem, without my email. When I opened Dashboard and MM tab now the sync dialogue started and went through. Thanks!

As I ran the clean tool I have to check all my settings with 5.40. Then I might dare to remove 5.40 from Dashboard and then install 5.41 pr3. That seem to be the only way to do updates with WS2012R2E.



My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 2:22:55 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
I'm sorry, but I can't get 5.41 pr3 to work.

I tried:
- Remove application 5.40 from Dashboard.
- Close and open Dashboard to complete removal.
- Installed 5.41 and restarted server when prompted to.
- Dashboard gets stucked on start screen (see attached image).

Then I tried:
- Remove 5.41 from Control Panel.
- Open Dashboard and remove 5.41 under Applications.
- Close and open Dashboard to complete removal.
- Install 5.40, but when I try to open it says database is a higher version and it's not possible to proceed.

I guess I have to uninstall 5.41, run clean tool and install 5.40 again. 5.41 pr3 just don't work with WS2012R2E.

File Attachment(s):
Database higher.png (798kb) downloaded 1 time(s).

erik_n attached the following image(s):
Dashboard not opening.png
5.41 sucessfully installed.png



My home theather
My movies
erik_n
Posted: Sunday, April 3, 2022 9:29:16 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
I wanted to give 5.41 pr3 one more chance, so I:

- Uninstalled 5.40.
- Removed from Dashboard and restarted Dashboard.
- Ran clean tool.
- Checked in Control Panel that SQL was removed.
- Restarted server.
- Installed 5.41.
- Waited a while.
- Ran Windows update and installed all updates for SQL.
- Restarted server.
- Tried to open Dashboard, got stuck at start screen again.
- Waited one hour, still start screen.
- Started over again, but this time with 5.40.
- 5.40 working fine.

So, my conclusion is that this from the change log is valid for 5.41 pr3 with WS2012R2E.

Quote:
Change: We have worked on changing the SQL queries around the program to avoid various situations where locking on the database level, which could cause some situations where the app was not responding. Please give us feedback if you still see this. Notice! This is a bigger internal change, and can mean that there is places where the SQL is broken.


Now I wait for a release tested with WS2012R2E before I try again.

My home theather
My movies
binnerup
Posted: Monday, April 4, 2022 8:21:08 AM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,069
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (156987)
Hi Erik,

Can you let me know if the Collection Management app works on the device, or if this affects the dashboard only?

Is there any chance you can provide us the log file from "C:\ProgramData\My Movies"?

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
erik_n
Posted: Monday, April 4, 2022 9:21:33 PM
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/29/2012
Posts: 234
Location: Sweden

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (14692)
Hi Brian,

I usually open Dashboard first and then open MMCM from MM tab in Dashboard. As it not was possible now I also tried to open MMCM from apps on the server. Then I shortly got a window saying it did some configuration, but MMCM never opened. At the next attempt there was no window about configuration, it just didn't open.

I'm not at home right now, so I can't send a log file. I don't know if it is any good, as I ran clean tool before I installed 5.40 again. I can check it as soon as I'm back home.

My home theather
My movies
cge
Posted: Monday, April 4, 2022 9:29:12 PM
Groups: Member , Windows Home Server

Joined: 7/9/2007
Posts: 458
Location: France

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (9721)
Hi Brian,

I've the same issue, log file attached
Windows Server 2019 with Essential

Christophe

File Attachment(s):
my movies log.zip (932kb) downloaded 2 time(s).


binnerup
Posted: Monday, April 4, 2022 10:48:41 PM

Groups: Administration , Windows RT/8 Discussion Group

Joined: 2/1/2005
Posts: 49,069
Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (156987)
cge wrote:
Hi Brian,

I've the same issue, log file attached
Windows Server 2019 with Essential

Christophe


Nothing in this log reveals anything, except that there is a backup restore in progress...

Having trouble installing or upgrading to My Movies 5? Click here for troubleshooting.

Having a problem? Searching our Knowledge Base is always the first step.

How can I produce a log file in My Movies for Windows?

How can I fully uninstall My Movies for Windows
ronaldsva
Posted: Wednesday, April 6, 2022 3:42:37 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/16/2017
Posts: 7

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (24134)
Instalei a versão 5.41 no Windows 11 e está apresentando erro de Script sempre que clico em algum título.

ronaldsva
Posted: Wednesday, April 6, 2022 3:43:32 AM
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/16/2017
Posts: 7

Rank:
Rank based on contribution points and purchased points. Click to see details. (24134)
Instalei a versão 5.41 no Windows 11 e está apresentando erro de Script sempre que clico em algum título.
Users browsing this topic
guest


Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Main Forum RSS : RSS

Powered by Yet Another Forum.net version 1.9.0 (NET v4.0) - 10/10/2006
Copyright © 2003-2006 Yet Another Forum.net. All rights reserved.